Biography winner 2014 Jeroen van Vliet

Jeroen van Vliet door Rens Horn, staand, klein, 2Biography Jeroen van Vliet
Jeroen van Vliet is known as one of Holland’s most lyrical jazz pianists, a master of nuance and subtlety. A musician and composer who intertwines great sense of melody and harmony with adventure and experiment.
He made a name for himself in the bands of alto saxophonist Paul van Kemenade and double bass player Eric van der Westen and distinguished himself on Fender Rhodes in Gatecrash, group of trumpeter Eric Vloeimans.
After completing the composition assigment of the Northsea Jazz Festival in 2008, he created more new projects of his own, for playing solo and for his bands Estafest (with viola player Oene van Geel, guitarist Anton Goudsmit and saxophonist Mete Erker) and OGU (with guitarist Bram Stadhouders and drummer Etienne Nillesen).
The Cd releases from both these bands received rave reviews.

Only 19 years old he hits the spotlight by winning both first prize ánd the award for the best soloist at the Frisian Middelsee Jazztreffen. Three years later, in 1988, he repeats this feat at the Amsterdam Meervaart Jazz Concours. During the nineties he distinguishes himself in the bands of alto saxophonist Paul van Kemenade and double bass player Eric van der Westen.

During the last ten years Van Vliet made a name for himself in various bands including trumpeter Eric Vloeiman’s Gatecrash. This group, which features Van Vliet on Fender Rhodes and electronics, won the 2007 Edison Award for the album Gatecrashin’. Gatecrash, as well as the Kyteman collaboration Kytecrash, has been extensively touring Holland and abroad.

In 2008 the North Sea Jazz Festival commissioned Van Vliet to write a free composition. He forms the group Sikeda, a line-up of cello, double bass, drums, synths, percussion and a shipload of electronics, enabling him to do just about anything. The cd Thin Air, the project’s spin-off, was nominated for an Edison Award.

Together with top class improvisers Oene van Geel (viola), Anton Goudsmit (guitar) and Mete Erker (saxophone) Van Vliet forms the energetic and single-minded collective Estafest. Here, once more, Van Vliet’s compositions can be heard in a groundbreaking, adventurous setting. After the applauded 2011 live debut cd, the 2014 studio album Eno Supo results in a showcase at the international Jazzahead fair in Bremen.

Furthermore Van Vliet has played with Simin Tander for some years now, a vocalist with whom he has frequently performed in Germany and outside of Europe. Van Vliet also collaborates with various dance and theatre companies, including the one of his brother Marc van Vliet. Moreover he’s played with many great international artists, including Bob Malach, Kenny Wheeler, John Zorn, Norma Winstone, Charly Mariano and Jakob Bro.

In January 2014 Van Vliet releases two albums as a leader: Wait, a solo cd, and OGU, een trio recording with Bram Stadhouders (guitar) and Etienne Nillesen (drums). Both albums get rave reviews.

In 2014 Jeroen van Vliet receives the Buma Boy Edgarprijs, Holland’s most prestigious jazz award.

Van Vliet is featured as sideman on more than 50 cds.
He has released the following albums as a leader or co-leader of a group:

Wait – solo piano, 2014
Jeroen van Vliet OGU – with Bram Stadhouders and Etienne Nillesen, 2014
(Estafest) Eno Supo – with Oene van Geel, Anton Goudsmit and Mete Erker, 2014
(Estafest) Estafest Live! – with Oene van Geel, Anton Goudsmit and Mete Erker, 2011
(Sikeda) Thin Air – with Erwin Vann, Afra Mussawisade, Jörg Brinkmann, Pascal Vermeer, Frans van der Hoeven, 2010
The Poet & Other Tales – with Pascal Vermeer and Frans van der Hoeven, 2008
Unseen Land – with Mete Erker, 2005
Alleen nog maar de zon schilderen – with Herman Coenen, 2004
En Blanc et Noir – with Michael Moore and Eric van der Westen, 2002
Red Sun – with Dré Pallemaerts and Frans van der Hoeven, 2001
Who’s Afraid – solo piano, 1995